Department of Human services, Self-Sufficiency Program

Detailed Information

The Department of Human Services Self Sufficiency program (SSP) provides assistance for low-income families to promote family stability and help them become self-supporting.

The major program areas within Self Sufficiency are:

  • Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP)
  • SNAP Training & Employment Program (STEP)
  • Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF)
  • Employment Related Day Care (ERDC)
  • Job Opportunity and Basic Skills (JOBS)
  • Temporary Assistance for Domestic Violence Survivors (TA-DVS)

Folks can apply online for SNAP benefits at

Skip to content